Study sites

We focus on the marine protected areas that are designated in the German Exclusive Economic Zone (EEZ) of the North Sea; the Borkum Reef Ground, the Dogger Bank and the Sylt Outer Reef - Eastern German Bight. The latter also includes the Amrumbank, a sandbank off the island of Amrum.
In total, the areas cover around 28% of the German EEZ.

The areas are described in more detail here